Open Your Crown Chakra to Find True Bliss

The crown chakra, which is also known as Sahasrara chakra, is your center for bliss. Yogis say this spot is the seat of your soul, that you emanate from the top of your head and flow into space.

According to, “The crown chakra is associated with the transcendence of our limitations, whether they are personal or bound to space and time. It is where the paradox becomes norm, where seemingly opposites are one. The quality of awareness that comes with the crown chakra is universal, transcendent.”

The Chakras

Before we go any further, though, let’s talk about chakras. Perhaps you’ve seen a picture of a seated person with a rainbow of dots up their spine to their forehead. These are the chakras. Although some people may argue that there are more than 7 chakras, everyone agrees that there are at least 7. See the picture below for the approximate location of the chakras.

7 chakras

Thanks to for the image.

In English, chakra translates to “wheel.” All of these “wheels” work together to transfer energy, thoughts, feelings, and impulses through your body. The chakras are truly a complex system. To truly understand each of them and how they work would require study far above and beyond what this article offers.

So far, we have already discussed the root chakra (Muladhara), the sacral chakra (Svadhisthana), the solar plexus chakra (Manipura), the heart chakra (Anahata), throat chakra (Vishuddha), and the third eye chakra (Ajna).

Chakras are first mentioned in 200 B.C. in Pantanjali’s Yoga Sutras.  Despite the large quantity of years to study the chakras, it hasn’t been until relatively recently that scientific studies have started to validate the ancient claims. (Here’s a link to “Scientists Quantify and Graphically Chart Alignment of Human Chakras in Various Emotional States” if you’re interested in reading more on that.)

Since we all have 7 chakras, each chakra is important to us for various reasons. We may not universally feel each chakra in the same way. For example, if a friend and I both have our crown chakras misaligned, we may experience different feelings and thoughts. However, we can participate in the same crown chakra-aligning practice and both receive benefit in our respective areas.

Crown Chakra Attributes

crown chakra

Thanks to

Each chakra has its own attributes and associations. Here is a quick breakdown of the crown chakra.

  • Color:  Violet or White
  • Element:  Space
  • Sense:  not applicable
  • Location:  Top of the head
  • Functions:  Bliss, Union, Empathy, True Wisdom

Signs of Crown Chakra Imbalance

According to, you may want to balance your crown chakra if you feel:

  • disconnected from your spirit.
  • constant cynicism regarding what is sacred.
  • disconnected from your body.
  • like you’re living in your head, disconnected from your body and earthly matters.
  • obsessive attachment to spiritual matters.
  • closed-minded.

Crown Chakra Balancing

Given that you are supposed to work on the issues from your first chakra and so on up, by the time you get to the seventh chakra, the crown chakra, you should be pretty set. In fact, that’s the guidance that I read for how to balance the crown chakra. Pretty much, it said Well, if you’ve been working on all the other chakras like you’re supposed to, you should be fine. Keep meditating, breathing, and practicing your yoga postures.

Additional Resources

If you’re wanting a specific practice to balance your solar plexus chakra, I recommend reading [easyazon_link identifier=”1583944974″ locale=”US” tag=”custpilandyog-20″]Yoga Sequencing[/easyazon_link] by Mark Stephens. This book contains many sequences, not just those that pertain to balancing the chakras, and information about how to construct your own yoga sequences.

I also really enjoy the [easyazon_link identifier=”0974430382″ locale=”US” tag=”custpilandyog-20″]Yoga Toolbox for Teachers and Students[/easyazon_link] by Integrative Yoga Therapy. This is a binder of laminated pages that thoroughly explain many basic yoga poses. One of the perks of practicing yoga with these pages is that the activated chakras are shown for each pose. This makes it much easier to create a chakra specific sequence on your own.

How do you prefer to balance your crown chakra? Let us know in the comments below.

Sign up for my newsletter to get more tips for health and happiness! Also, you can find me on FacebookYouTube and Pinterest as Custom Pilates and Yoga.

About Sarah Stockett

Hi, I'm Sarah! I'm a certified Pilates and yoga instructor with a passion for pain relief. I believe you can use simple exercises to relieve your aches + pains. AND, I believe I can teach you how.